Doc Watson – Sittin’ On Top of the World (2018)

Posted by Green on March 12, 2018as

320 kbps | 125 MB | LINKS

As a result of the resurgence of interest in folk and bluegrass music in the early 60s, Doc Watson was invited to appear at the 1963-64 Newport Folk Festivals and he performed at Town Hall in NYC in 1963 with Bill Monroe. This revival of interest was often manifested by enthusiasm for the genre on college campuses, which led to these amazing and rare solo performance recorded at Purdue University on March 19, 1964 with a second performance the following day at University of Illinois. The fact Doc is playing solo is also unique as his son Merle joined him on tour Shortly after those performances, he was invited to perform in front of enthusiastic college crowds, solo, before his son Merle joined him on tour the following year. This CD contains performances from his Purdue appearance that were not included in the initial Doc Watson: Live From Purdue CD as well as five rare tracks from his University of Illinois appearance..

1. Six Thousand Years Ago [04:48]
2. Tom Dooley [03:42]
3. I Am A Pilgrim [03:44]
4. Old Mountain Dew [04:33]
5. Little Darling Pal Of Mine [03:00]
6. Blue Smoke [02:20]
7. Sitting On Top Of The World [03:43]
8. He Is Coming To Us Dead [03:03]
9. Georgie Buck [02:11]
10. Intoxicated Rat [03:45]
11. Corrina, Corrina [03:18]
12. Spike Driver Blues [03:40]
13. The Dream Of The Miner’s Child [04:01]
14. Greensleeves [01:52]
15. Way Downtown [03:42]
16. Little Sadie [02:25]
17. Black Mountain Rag [01:45]
18. Worried Blues [04:06]
19. Farewell Blues [01:12]
20. Liberty [01:20]
21. Hobo Bill’s Last Ride [03:12]

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *