Dexys – Let The Record Show: Dexys Do Irish and Country Soul [Deluxe Edition](2016)

Posted by admin on February 4, 2018as

cover320 kbps | 236 MB | LINKS

The album is a body of work which sees Dexys putting their heart and soul into every track that Kevin Rowland has wanted to do since the mid-1980s. Drawing on Rowland and co-producer/core band member Sean Read’s Irish roots, the album is a combination of their interpretations of Irish songs and other select compositions. Each song has been given at least the same level of attention and care as any of their own songs would be. This record is not a stop gap, or a fill in album. It is not a covers album.

“We had the idea to do this album in 1984 or 1985,” says Rowland. “It was to be called Irish and was to feature songs like ‘Carrickfergus’, ‘Curragh of Kildare’ and ‘Women Of Ireland’ – all of which are featured here. Dexys broke up not too long afterwards, so it didn’t happen.”

“Over the years, I would often think about it,” he continues. “The idea of it never went away. I can recall 10 or 12 years ago thinking, for example, ‘If I do ‘Carrickfergus’, I can try this or that.’ Or maybe we can do ‘You Wear it Well’, as the brief had expanded from solely consisting of Irish songs, to songs I’ve always loved and wanted to record. The album was always at the back of my mind. Then just as we were getting ready to record ‘One Day I’m Going To Soar’, I had an inspirational bolt from the blue, a strong clear feeling that this album should be our next project.’

“The album is called Dexys DO Irish & Country Soul: DO it, not BECOME it,” he emphasises. “We’re not trying to be Irish, and we haven’t used too many Celtic instruments on there. It’s our sound. We’re bringing our style to these songs. I’m just a guy who follows my intuition, my inspiration. This really felt like the right thing to do. We have put probably more care and attention into these songs than we might have done with our own songs, because the odds were high. It was important to get them right, and make sure every one of them felt relevant to us.”


01. Women Of Ireland (03:22)
02. To Love Somebody (04:33)
03. Smoke Gets In Your Eyes (03:30)
04. Curragh Of Kildare (04:12)
05. I’ll Take You Home Again, Kathleen (04:37)
06. You Wear It Well (04:51)
07. 40 Shades Of Green (03:13)
08. How Do I Live (05:00)
09. Grazing In The Grass (04:19)
10. The Town I Loved So Well (06:02)
11. Both Sides Now (03:46)
12. Carrickfergus (06:26)
13. To Love Somebody (Solo Vocal) (04:37)
14. Smoke Gets in Your Eyes (Solo Vocal) (03:20)
15. Curragh of Kildare (Solo Vocal) (04:03)
16. I’ll Take You Home Again, Kathleen (Solo Vocal) (04:17)
17. How Do I Live (Solo Vocal) (02:29)
18. Grazing in the Grass (Solo Vocal) (03:41)
19. The Town I Loved So Well (Solo Vocal) (05:40)
20. Carrickfergus (Solo Vocal) (06:12)
21. How Do I Live (Instrumental) (05:10)
22. Grazing in the Grass (Instrumental) (04:36)
23. Both Sides Now (Instrumental) (04:17)

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *