Derek & The Dominos – Live At The Fillmore (1994/2019)

Posted by Green on January 6, 2019
in rock

320 kbps | 287 MB | LINKS

In his liner notes, Anthony DeCurtis calls Live at the Fillmore “a digitally remixed and remastered version of the 1973 Derek and the Dominos double album In Concert, with five previously unreleased performances and two tracks that have only appeared on the four-CD Clapton retrospective, Crossroads.” But this does not adequately describe the album. Live at the Fillmore is not exactly an expanded version of In Concert; it is a different album culled from the same concerts that were used to compile the earlier album. Live at the Fillmore contains six of the nine recordings originally released on In Concert, and three of its five previously unreleased performances are different recordings of songs also featured on In Concert “Why Does Love Got to Be So Sad?,” “Tell the Truth,” and “Let It Rain.” The other two, “Nobody Knows You When You’re Down and Out” and “Little Wing,” have not been heard before in any concert version. Even when the same recordings are used on Live at the Fillmore as on In Concert, they have, as noted, been remixed and, as not noted, re-edited. In either form, Derek and the Dominos’ October 1970 stand at the Fillmore East, a part of the group’s only U.S. tour, finds them a looser aggregation than they seemed to be in the studio making their only album, Layla and Other Assorted Love Songs. A trio backing Eric Clapton, the Dominos leave the guitarist considerable room to solo on extended numbers, five of which run over ten minutes each. Clapton doesn’t show consistent invention, but his playing is always directed, and he plays more blues than you can hear on any other Clapton live recording.


01. Got To Get Better In A Little While (Live)
02. Why Does Love Got To Be So Sad (Live At Fillmore East, New York / 1970)
03. Key To The Highway (Live At Fillmore East, New York / 1970)
04. Blues Power (Live)
05. Have You Ever Loved A Woman (Live)
06. Bottle Of Red Wine (Live)


01. Tell The Truth (Live At Fillmore East, New York / 1970)
02. Nobody Knows You When You’re Down And Out (Live At Fillmore East, New York / 1970)
03. Roll It Over (Live)
04. Presence Of The Lord (Live)
05. Little Wing (Live At Fillmore East, New York / 1970)
06. Let It Rain (Live At Fillmore East, New York / 1970)
07. Crossroads (Live At Fillmore East, New York / 1970)

One Comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *