Del McCoury ‎- Celebrating 50 Years Of Del McCoury (2009)

Posted by Green on May 22, 2020as

320 kbps | 0,9 GB | LINKS


CELBRATING 50 YEARS OF DEL McCOURY is a stunning 5-disc special edition box set collection encapsulating a 50-year legacy of brilliant, heartfelt music from the Bluegrass icon, who recently celebrated another milestone by turning 70 years old. With more than 30 new recordings of songs from Del s first 40 years of performing and an additional 18 from the Del McCoury s Band most essential tracks of the last decade, this quintessential box set is complete with a 12-page full color booklet of photographs from the McCoury family archives some which have never been seen.

From classics that he first sang back in the late 1950s to such stunning originals as High On A Mountain, Are You Teasing Me, Dark Hollow, Bluest Man In Town, Rain And Snow, Good Man Like Me, Rain Please Go Away, as well as Nothin Special and Never Grow Up Boy from the Grammy-winning, The Company We Keep, it s truly a life s work being handed down.

Del gives hope to everybody fifty years is a long time to be playing music in any field, says Elvis Costello. But to keep the purity that you need to do this kind of music, and the drive and energy, that takes a special kind of guy.

Elvis words are echoed by other master musicians and fans alike whose support for Del has only intensified over the years. The onetime Bill Monroe sideman is now the music s spiritual and artistic heir. Since the early 90 s, Del s popularity has soared. In addition to countless awards, including a Grammy and 3 dozen IBMA s (and an unprecedented 9 Entertainer of the Year trophies), Del s influence reaches well beyond his Bluegrass disciples, from 2008 Grammy Album of the Year winner Alison Krauss, to Dierks Bentley, Steve Earle, Vince Gill, and jamband fav s Phish, Leftover Salmon and Yonder Mountain String Band.

CELEBRATING 50 YEARS OF DEL MCCOURY was recorded in a marathon session that lasted only a few days. As befits a living legend, and a lively one at that, he brings a fresh and inspired take to all the tracks, particularly those that have been part of his repertoire since the beginning.



Disc 1

1 I Wonder Where You Are Tonight See All 5
2 Remembering
3 Rain & Snow See
4 Are You Teasin’ Me See
5 Dreams See
6 White House Blues See
7 Dark Hollow
8 You’re the Girl of My Dreams
9 Don’t Stop the Music See
10 The Prisoner Song

Disc 2
1 Big Rock in the Road See
2 High on the Mountain See
3 Rain Please Go Away See
4 Pick Me Up On Your Way Down See
5 Good Man Like Me See
6 I’ve Endured See
7 Bluest Man In Town See
8 Don’t You Call My Name See
9 Evil Hearted Woman See
10 Loggin’ Man See

Disc 3
1 Loneliness & Desperation See
2 I Feel the Blues Movin’ In See
3 Don’t Let My Love Get in the Way See
4 Who Showed Who? See
5 Undone In Sorrow See
6 Take Me to the Mountains See
7 Eli Renfro See
8 Queen Anne’s Lace See
9 Nashville Cats See
10 Beauty of My Dreams See

Disc 4
1 Cold Hard Facts See
2 Black Jack County Chains See
3 A Far Cry See
4 Backslidin’ Blues See
5 50/50 Chance See
6 City of Stone See
7 Never Grow Up Boy See
8 Asheville Turnaround See
9 Learnin’ the Blues See
10 Cheek To Cheek With The Blues See

Disc 5
1 1952 Vincent Black Lightning See
2 Let an Old Racehorse Run See
3 Same Kind of Crazy as Me
4 I’m Afraid I Forgot the Feeling
5 All Aboard
6 It’s Just the Night
7 Nothin’ Special
8 Unequal Love
9 Mill Towns
10 My Love Will Not Change

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *