Dawes – We’re All Gonna Die (2016)

Posted by on September 16, 2016as

cover320 kbps | 108 MB | UL | OB |

Dawes have announced the impending release of their next album, the optimistically titled We’re All Gonna Die. Due out September 16th via their own HUB Records, the band’s fifth album to date follows last year’s All Your Favorite Bands.

We’re All Gone Die focuses on topics of doubt and sorrow without giving into the morose feelings. “These songs were all written in a very short period of time, very close together,” explained frontman Taylor Goldsmith in a press release. “In that sense, I feel like there was a consistency in mood and outlook our other records don’t have. Pretty much every song on this record explores a difficult situation and tries to find a way to find the good in it, or at least remind yourself that it’s not always that big of a deal. After all, as scary as it is, we are all gonna die.”

The album was recorded at Los Angeles’ EastWest Studios and Silverlake’s The Boat and produced by Blake Mills (Alabama Shakes’ Sound & Color), who also happens to have been a member of the pre-Dawes band Simon Dawes. Guests on the 10-track effort include Alabama Shakes’ Brittany Howard, My Morning Jacket’s Jim James, Lucius frontwomen Holly Laessig and Jess Wolfe, Will Oldham, and Mandy Moore.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *