Commander Cody and His Lost Planet Airmen – The Early Years 1967-1970 (2007/2019)

Posted by Green on January 9, 2019as

320 kbps | 255 MB | LINKS

Let’s get the truth of the matter out of the way first: this double-disc collection of unreleased early material by Ann Arbor, MI’s Commander Cody and His Lost Planet Airmen is for the hardcore fan only, and for those who are freaks for musical history. Is that a bad thing? Not at all. If anything, this is one of the more revelatory documents to be issued in the CD era. While many music listeners even the most fervent don’t like to dig into the guts and grit of a band’s early rehearsals and fumbling-in-the-dark material to find the spark that ignited the fire, there are those who live for stuff like this. SPV’s Blue series has licensed from Billy C. Farlow the LPA’s lead vocalist and chief songwriter — these rough, rowdy, garagey demos that give more than a clue as to how the unique roots sound of that band came together and transformed the sound of American roots music by weaving together early rock & roll, honky tonk and Western swing and blues into a heady, intoxicated brew that landed them one Top Ten hit (“Hot Rod Lincoln”) and made them one of the nation’s premier roots and live bands for a few years in the early ’70s.

This is a brilliant document. It’s very rough in places, but the sheer verve, loose stoned-out glory, and ragged joy in the earliest performances that led to the nearly magical transformation of the first members into the wild, woolly, rowdy, and sophisticated tight-butt sound that belonged to Commander Cody & the Lost Planet Airmen is nothing short of amazing. Again, CC & His LPA freaks will simply flip for this, and musical historians will take great delight in filling in these gaps. This is essential stuff and it’s a gas, to boot.



01What’s the Matter Now?
02Midnight Shift
03When My Blue Moon Turns to Gold Again
04My Bucket’s Got a Hole in It
05Honky Tonkin’
06Mountain Dew
07Midnight Shift (Campus Radio Session)
08I Ain’t Got Nothin’ But Time (Campus Radio Session)
09Cravin’ Your Love (Rehearsal)
10Daddy’s Gonna Treat You Right (Rehearsal)
11I’m Satisfied with You
12Honky Tonk Song (Rehearsal)
13Cravin’ Your Love (Rehearsal) [Take 2]
14Back to Tennessee
15Semi-Truck (Live at The Family Dog, San Francisco)
16What’s the Matter Now? (Live at The Family Dog, San Francisco)
17Stranded In the Jungle (Live at The Family Dog, San Francisco)


01. I Ain’t Never (Live at the Fillmore West)
02. First I Look at the Purse (Live at the Fillmore West)
03. The Shadow Knows (Live at the Fillmore West)
04. Get It (Live at the Fillmore West)
05. Boppin’ the Blues (Live at the Fillmore West)
06. Rip It Up (Live at the Fillmore West)
07. Jambalaya (Live at Hill Auditorium)
08. Shout Bamalama (Live at Hill Auditorium)
09. Hot Rod Lincoln (Live at Hill Auditorium)
10. It Should’ve Been Me (Live at Hill Auditorium)
11. Back to Tennessee (Live at Hill Auditorium)
12. Lawdy Miss Clawdy (Live at Hill Auditorium)
13. Lookin’ At the World Through a Windshield (Live at Hill Auditorium)
14. (I’m Gonna) Burn That Woman [Live at Hill Auditorium]
15. Big River (Live at The Longbranch Saloon)
16. What’s the Matter Now? (Live at The Longbranch Saloon)
17. Semi-Truck (Live at The Longbranch Saloon)
18. Lost In the Ozone (Live at The Longbranch Saloon)

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *