Cass Elliot – The Complete Cass Elliot Solo Collection 1968-71 (2005)

Posted by Green on March 15, 2020
in folk, pop

320 kbps | 239 MB | LINKS


Of all the Mamas and Papas, Cass Elliot was the best poised for solo stardom. After all, she had That Voice, and a command of musical styles reaching back into Tin Pan Alley. And while she was the first of the band out of the chute with a solo album, she sort of eased into it with the other Mama and Papas backing her on “Dream A Little Dream Of Me.” In the three years she was a solo artist for ABC/Dunhill, she released two albums (Dream A Little Dream Of Me and Bubble Gum, Lemonade And… Something for Mama, later retitled Make Your Own Kind Of Music) and a handful of singles, all of which are included on The Complete Cass Elliot Solo Collection 1968-1971. During our excursions in the vaults, we came across three tracks that had never been released in any form: Cass’ cover of Joni Mitchell’s “Sisotowbell Lane,” a version of John Sebastian’s “Darling Be Home Soon,” and the Cashman, Pistilli & West tune “For As Long As You Need Me.” They are revelatory, and stand proudly with anything Cass released. Cass’ daughter, Owen Elliot-Kugell, contributed notes for the release and participated throughout the project. Rock historian (and Hip-O Select go-to guy) Richard Campbell performed copious feats of discographical and biographical research in support of his extensive liners, and all the tracks were newly mastered from the original tapes by Erick Labson of Universal Mastering West. Also, props to photographer Henry Diltz for finding such great photos of Cass; the package really looks as good as it sounds.




Disc: 1
1. Dream a Little Dream of Me
2. California Earthquake
3. The Room Nobody Lives In
4. Talkin’ to Your Toothbrush
5. Blues for Breakfast
6. You Know Who I Am
7. Rubber Band
8. Long Time Loving You
9. Jane, the Insane Dog Lady
10. What Was I Thinking of
11. Burn Your Hatred
12. Sweet Believer
13. It’s Getting Better
14. Blow Me a Kiss
15. Sour Grapes
16. Easy Come, Easy Go
17. I Can Dream, Can’t I
18. Welcome to the World
19. Lady Love
20. He’s a Runner
21. Move in a Little Closer, Baby
22. When I Just Wear My Smile
23. Who’s to Blame

Disc: 2
1. Make Your Own Kind of Music
2. New World Coming
3. A Song That Never Comes
4. The Good Times Are Comin’ [From Monte Walsh]
5. Don’t Let the Good Life Pass You By
6. One Way Ticket
7. Ain’t Nobody Else Like You
8. The Costume Ball [From Doctors’ Wives]
9. Darling Be Home Soon [#]
10. Sistowbell Lane [#]
11. For as Long as You Need Me [#]
12. Different [From Pufnstuf]
13. Here We Go Again
14. All for Me
15. A Song That Never Comes [Mono Single Mix]

One Comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *