Calexico – The Thread That Keeps Us [Deluxe Edition] (2018)

Posted by Green on January 12, 2020as


Their ninth studio album is the followup to 2015’s critically acclaimed Edge of Sun. Working with their longtime engineer Craig Schumacher, Calexico co-produced The Thread That Keeps Us, gathering musicians from across the globe to dream up an earthy yet expansive sound spiked with jagged guitar tones and flashes of distortion.

The album mostly came to life in a house studio near the Northern California coast. Known as the Panoramic House but nicknamed “Phantom Ship” by Calexico vocalist/guitarist Joey Burns and drummer John Convertino, the sprawling Stinson Beach home was built partly from shipyard-salvaged timber and cobblestones unearthed from the streets of San Francisco.

The drama of that landscape directly influenced the lead single and opening track to The Thread That Keeps Us. Driven by sing-song melody and galloping rhythms, “End of the World With You” finds an unlikely romanticism in volatile times. With its lyrics illuminating “love in the age of the extremes,” the track feels equally joyful and grim: the perfect intro to an album that endlessly explores the contrast between bright and dark, hope and fear.

Like “End of the World with You,” much of The Thread That Keeps Us captures the anxieties and unease of living in tumultuous times. But while the album draws a kinetic energy from all that uncertainty, its lyrics unfold with a literary nuance and sense of setting and character.

On the making of the album, co-founder Joey Burns says, “There’s a little more chaos and noise in the mix than what we’ve done in the past,” Burns points out. Although that chaos has much to do with “where we’re at right now as a planet,” it also echoes Calexico’s dedication to constant experimentation. “Whenever we’re writing and we come up with something that feels too familiar, someone will end up saying, ‘That feels good, but let’s keep going and see what else we can uncover,’” Burns says. “It’s been really important to the arc of this band’s evolution for us to always keep on trying new things.”



01. End Of The World With You 03:08
02. Voices In The Field 03:26
03. Bridge To Nowhere 03:07
04. Spinball 01:11
05. Under The Wheels 03:23
06. The Town & Miss Lorraine 02:39
07. Flores y Tamales 02:47
08. Another Space 03:55
09. Unconditional Waltz 01:38
10. Girl In The Forest 02:46
11. Eyes Wide Awake 04:20
12. Dead In The Water 02:37
13. Shortboard 01:57
14. Thrown To The Wild 04:47
15. Music Box 02:55
16. Long Board 03:02
17. Luna Roja 03:43
18. Curse Of The Ride 02:51
19. Lost Inside 04:30
20. Inside The Energy Field 01:17
21. End Of The Night 03:29
22. Dream On Mount Tam 03:43

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *