Posts by date

Robert Pollard – Honey Locust Honky Tonk (2013)

Posted by on July 1, 2013 with No Commentsas

RONew album from the prolific singer/songwriter and Guided By Voices mainman. Honey Locust Honky Tonk is a compact wonder and so varied, tuneful, graceful, magnificent and ebullient that one will be forgiven for thinking that Robert Pollard has saved his best for his own album. Slicker in some ways than recent Guided By Voices efforts, though not without its own down-home charm, its 17 songs whiz by in 34 minutes, stridently showcasing Pollard’s songwriting mastery with some of the best tunes he’s ever penned. The longest, the semi-stately album closer ‘Airs,’ clocks in at just over three and a half minutes, but most are in the two- or two-and-half-minute range typical of Pollard’s attenuating genius. In truth, Pollard never holds anything back, and always seems uncannily able to pull any number of music tricks from his magic sleeve. He’s done it again, folks. Honey Locust Honky Tonk is as sweet and as sharp as anything Pollard and friends has ever produced.

mp3 VBR~257 kbps | 69 MB | UL | CL

Eastbound Jesus – Northern Rock (2013)

Posted by on July 1, 2013 with No Commentsas

estEastbound Jesus define themselves with the release of their third album in as many years. Northern Rock not only gives rise to the sextet’s own sound, but perhaps defines something that had previously been elusive – a sub-genre of music pumping out of the northern region of this country.  It’s something a kin to southern rock, but not quite; Northern Rock encompasses a variety of musical elements from rock to alternative country to folk-like story telling lyrics neatly packaged within each strategically placed song for an album that redefines the boundaries of Americana in the north.

mp3 160 kbps | 60 MB | UL |CL

The Fleeting Ends – Our Eyes Are Peeled (2013)

Posted by on July 1, 2013 with No Commentsas

flePhilly-based rock band with a knack for catchy and unique songwriting. With influences spanning from XTC and the Cars to the Pixies and Blur, The Fleeting Ends exploit its roots while still putting its own touch on there catalogue of music.

Matt Vantine: Vocals, Guitars, Piano, Keys, Mandolin
Matt Amadio: Vocals. Drums, Percussion, Keys
Russell Langley: Bass

mp3 320 kbps | 77 MB | UL

Matt Nathanson – Still Waiting For Spring (1999)

Posted by on July 1, 2013 with No Commentsas

Matt Nathanson’s latest release Still Waiting for Spring masterfully mixes youthful pop exuberance with singer/songwriter maturity. While Nathanson provides the acoustic styling on the album via his trademark 12-string guitar, a majority of the electric guitar, mandolin, and pedal steel came courtesy of David Immerglück of the Counting Crows. This collaboration proves fruitful, spawning the […]

Circle – Six Day Run (2013)

Posted by on July 1, 2013 with No Commentsas

Finland’s ever-prolific experimental rock quartet Circle‘s new soundtrack album, Six Day Run, is out now on the Ektro label. Since 1991, the band has put out a steady number of riff heavy, Krautrock meets noise art LP’s, soundtracks, and live recordings. Case in point, in 2007 alone, these guys released three studio albums, three live […]

Boris McCutcheon – Boris McCutcheon Sings The Songs Of Townes Van Zandt (2012)

Posted by on July 1, 2013 with No Comments
in folk

Tracks: 01.Snowin on Raton 02.Don t Take it Too Bad 03.Kathleen 04.White Freight Liner 05.Highway Kind 06.Loretta 07.Waiting Around to Die 08.If I Needed You 09.Rake 10.To Live is to Fly 11.Second Lovers Song mp3 160 kbps | 47 MB | UL | CL

Bobby ‘Blue’ Bland – I Woke Up Screaming (2012)

Posted by on July 1, 2013 with No Comments
in soul

This is a 20-track import anthology of Bland’s earliest Duke sides from 1952-1957, at which point the Blues Consolidated album takes over. Tracks: 01. I Woke up Screaming 02. No Blow, No Show 03. I Don’t Believe 04. I Learned My Lesson 05. It’s My Life, Baby 06. I Smell Trouble 07. Don’t Want No […]

The Infamous Stringdusters – Silver Sky (2012)

Posted by on July 1, 2013 with No Commentsas

Band: Andy Hall – Dobro Andy Falco – guitar Chris Pandolfi – banjo Jeremy Garrett – fiddle Travis Book – upright bass Chris Eldridge – guitar Jesse Cobb – mandolin mp3 320 kbps | 101 MB | UL | CL