Posts by date

Grandaddy – Pretty Mess By This One Band (1996)

Posted by on June 28, 2013 with No Commentsas

grThe album is at its weakest when the band seems to reproduce far too many American college-favored indie bands already out there. For instance, after a brief intro, the first full song — “Taster” — fails precisely because it never ascends out of its mound of discordant guitars and mumbling drawls. It’s not bad songwriting, but it comes across as so many countless other college bands, and it never turns any heads as a result. A song like “Kim, You Bore Me to Death,” however, is on a better footing: unlike most of the rest of the release, it seems less like Pavement’s postmodernism and more like Pixies’ squalls (lead singer Jason Lytle even lets his voice climax into effective Black Francis-like screeches). Continuing the trend, the album speeds past some more unexciting tracks to reach its closing “Egg Hit and Jack Too.” This closer has such an impressive mix of Yo La Tengo’s more melodious thrashes and Grandaddy’s own dusty restlessness that one has to wonder if the bandmembers have it in them to produce a truly great release sometime down the road. Until then, A Pretty Mess by This One Band remains a decent litmus test for the group’s own potential. Definitely not as pretty as the title might suggest, but still one of the better — although flawed — messes from America’s indie underground.

mp3 192 kbps | 34 MB | UL

VA – The History Of American Folk (2010)

Posted by on June 28, 2013 with No Commentsas


CD 1:
01. Tom Dooley – The Kingston Trio
02. John Brown’s Body – Pete Seeger
03. Little Black Train – Woody Guthrie
04. Sail Away Ladies – Odetta
05. The Wreck Of The Old ’97 – Cisco Houston
06. Wildwood Flower – The Carter Family
07. The Boll Weevil – Ramblin’ Jack Elliott
08. Frankie and Johnny – Pete Seeger
09. Black Snake Moan – Leadbelly
10. Greenback Dollar – Woody Guthrie
11. Strange Fruit – Josh White
12. On Springfield Mountain – Burl Ives
13. The Frozen Logger – The Weavers
14. The Old Chisholm Trail – Cisco Houston
15. Keep On The Sunny Side – The Carter Family
16. Live The Life – Josh White
17. Chilly Winds – Odetta
18. It’s Hard, Ain’t It Hard – Ramblin’ Jack Elliott
19. I’ve Been Working On The Railroad – Pete Seeger
20. Easy Rider – Leadbelly
21. Everglades – The Kingston Trio
22. Timber (Jerry The Mule) – Josh White
23. Oh My Darlin’ Clementine – The Weavers
24. I Know Where I’m Going – Burl Ives
25. Scarlet Ribbons – Harry Belafonte

CD 2:
01. We Shall Not Be Moved – Pete Seeger
02. The Big Rock Candy Mountain – Burl Ives
03. Kisses Sweeter Than Wine – The Weavers
04. Blue Tail Fly – Leadbelly
05. This Land Is Your Land – Woody Guthrie
06. I Gave My Love A Cherry (The Riddle Song) – Josh White
07. So Long It’s Been Good To Know You – The Weavers
08. Where Did You Sleep Last Night? – Leadbelly
09. House Of The Rising Sun – Woody Guthrie
10. John Henry – Josh White
11. On Top Of Old Smokey – The Weavers
12. Frog Went A Courting – Pete Seeger
13. Cowboy’s Lament (Streets Of Laredo) – Burl Ives
14. Rock Island Line – Leadbelly
15. Wanderings – Josh White
16. Grand Coulee Dam – Woody Guthrie
17. If I Had A Hammer – The Weavers
18. Worried Man Blues – Burl Ives
19. The Fox – Pete Seeger
20. Santy Anno – Odetta
21. I Ride An Old Paint – The Almanac Singers
22. Along The Colorado Trail – The Weavers
23. Mule Skinner Blues – Ramblin’ Jack Elliott
24. Darlin’ Cory – Burl Ives
25. Goodnight Irene – Leadbelly

CD 3:
01. Alabama Bound – Odetta
02. Billy Boy – Burl Ives
03. Bring A Little Water Sylvie – The Weavers
04. Brown Eyes – Woody Guthrie
05. Old Blue – Ramblin’ Jack Elliott
06. The Ballad Of Rodger Young – Burl Ives
07. Jack O’Diamonds – Odetta
08. Sometime – Josh White with Sonny Terry and Brownie McGhee
09. John Hardy – Leadbelly
10. Fare You Well Polly – Pete Seeger
11. Ezekiel Saw The Wheel – Cisco Houston
12. Pastures Of Plenty – Woody Guthrie
13. Lonesome Traveller – The Weavers
14. He Lies In The American Land – Pete Seeger
15. Old Dan Tucker – Burl Ives
16. Midnight Special – Leadbelly
17. Another Man Done Gone – Odetta
18. Like A Natural Man – Josh White
19. Pretty Boy Floyd – Ramblin’ Jack Elliott
20. Ox Driver’s Song – Pete Seeger
21. Bury Me Beneath The Weeping Willow – Woody Guthrie and Cisco Houston
22. Go Tell Aunt Rhody – Burl Ives
23. Erie Canal – Burl Ives
24. Glory, Glory – Odetta
25. Wasn’t That A Time? – The Weavers

mp3 320 kbps | 453 MB | UL | TB

Bobby Whitlock – Where There’s a Will There’s a Way (2013)

Posted by on June 28, 2013 with No Comments
in soul

boNew release containing digitally remastered editions of the first two early 1970’s solo albums by Memphis singer/songwriter/keyboardist/guitarist Bobby Whitlock. Presented here together on CD, Bobby Whitlock (1972) and Raw Velvet (also 1972) are star-studded (George Harrison, Eric Clapton, Delaney & Bonnie), soulful albums from one of Rock music’s key unsung figures. Whitlock’s story is a remarkable one. Born to a hardscrabble existence, raised in abject poverty, abused by his preacher father and was sent out to pick cotton in the fields. Moving from one railroad town to another, Whitlock was quite literally from the wrong side of the tracks.

mp3 320 kbps | 166 MB | UL | CL

The Allman Brothers Band – Brothers and Sisters [40th Anniversary Super Deluxe Edition] (2013)

Posted by on June 28, 2013 with No Comments
in rock

This 40th Anniversary Super Deluxe Edition features Brothers and Sisters (Original Recording Remastered), a second disc of previously unreleased Jams, Rehearsals, and Outtakes, in addition to two extra discs that feature the entire live show from Winterland in San Francisco on September 26, 1973. CD 1: The Original Album (originally released as Capricorn CP 0111, 1973) […]

Roy Roberts, Johnny Rawls & Barbara Carr – Three Pair (2012)

Posted by on June 28, 2013 with No Commentsas ,

Three longtime Soul Blues legends,team up for a one-of-a-kind collection titled, Three Pair. This album includes 13 tracks from 3 longtime Soul Blues legends. Johnny Rawls – vocals, guitar, organ Roy Roberts – vocals, guitar, piano, organ Barbara Carr – vocals Louis Kahl – strings, piano Scott Adair – saxophone Rusty Smith – trumpet Dave […]