Posts by date

James Cotton – Cotton Mouth Man (2013)

Posted by on May 14, 2013 with No Commentsas


01 – Cotton Mouth Man
02 – Midnight Train
03 – Mississippi Mud
04 – He Was There
05 – Something For Me
06 – Wrapped Around My Heart
07 – Saint On Sunday
08 – Hard Sometimes
09 – Young Bold Women
10 – Bird Nest On The Ground
11 – Wasn’t My Time To Go
12 – Blues Is Good For You
13 – Bonnie Blue

FLAC + Covers | 359 MB | UL | TB

Randall Bramblett – The Bright Spots (2013)

Posted by on May 14, 2013 with No Comments
in rock


Throughout Randall Bramblett’s long, storied career as a sideman and as a solo artist, he has doggedly mined the sources of his earliest inspirations — soul, R&B, blues, and roots rock — for the lessons they teach about creative expression. As a result, his albums have always moved a little deeper, a little wider, and have taken enough chances with those forms that he’s too mercurial to pin down — he’s a marketing person’s nightmare, but a real music fan’s (and musician’s) delight. The Bright Spots, his ninth offering, is at once his loosest and most adventurous studio recording. Bramblett raised $30,000 in a Kickstarter campaign to fund the recording. Seven tunes were recorded with his longtime band and some friends at drummer, co-producer, and engineer Gerry Hansen’s studio near Bramblett’s home in Athens, Georgia, while the remainder were done with a smaller group in Nashville. The different lineups and locations add a varied, very live-from-the-floor feel (which in fact most of these cuts were), despite the fact that Hansen and Bramblett took some real chances in post-production. One example is on the smoking, midtempo gospel blues “Every Saint,” with its canny loop of Pygmy children splashing around in a creek as both intro and backdrop. There are some popping, funky rockers, including opener “Roll,” with its stinging guitars, wailing B-3, and punchy horns. The grimy, psych-tinged, gospelized groove of “John the Baptist” (with a killer baritone sax by Tom Ryan and spacy Coral electric sitar by Davis Causey) is a real standout. “Whatever That Is” is swampy, Rhodes-fueled blues, while “Trying to Steal a Minute” is a steamy, nocturnal, suffocatingly close, shuffling funk blues with throbbing bass, big hypnotic shuffling drums, and layered washes of keyboards and guitar. The loop-drenched blues funk in “You Bring Me Down” is forceful for Betsy Franck’s gospel wail soaring above the musical fray. The finest moments here are the ballads. Bramblett seems to have been listening to the Mercury-era Rod Stewart records when he wrote the gorgeous love song “My Darling One.” The tender, shimmering, poetic “Detox Bracelet,” with its lithe keyboards and skittering hi-hat, is his own startling, unique invention. Throughout the record, Bramblett’s dusky, soulful voice inhabits his words as if what is portrayed by them is happening in real time, and while the considerable hooks help him there, it’s his poignant lyrics that bring him the rest of the way into the center. In this latter area, he’s as good — and as deep — as virtually anybody. The Bright Spots, while immediately recognizable as a Bramblett album, doesn’t sound like anything else in his catalog. It’s bold, inventive, colorful, and at times profound.

mp3 320 kbps | 136 MB | UL | CL

Pake Rossi – Mercy of the Mountain (2013)

Posted by on May 14, 2013 with No Commentsas

pHighway adventures, heart break and curious characters fill the songs lyrically while producers David Beck and Paul Cauthen insure the songs are compelling and easy to listen to.

Recommended if You Like:

John Prine
Rodney Crowell
Todd Snider

mp3 320 kbps | 110 MB | UL | CL

George Strait – Love Is Everything (2013)

Posted by on May 14, 2013 with No Commentsas

George Strait is set to release his highly anticipated 40th studio album, Love Is Everything, coming May 14 on longtime label home MCA Nashville. The King of Country music rejoined veteran producer Tony Brown to co-produce the album, which features 13 new tracks, including the current single Give It All We Got Tonight;. Love Is […]

Songs: Ohia – Hecla & Griper (2013)

Posted by on May 14, 2013 with No Commentsas

Secretly Canadian is proud to announce the 15th Anniversary reissue of a Songs: Ohia classic, the Hecla & Griper EP, now appearing for the first time with previously unreleased bonus material. After spending the summer of 1997 on the road, Jason Molina and Co. headed into Bloomington, Ind. studio The Grotto with producer Dan Burton […]

Peter Rowan – The Old School (2013)

Posted by on May 14, 2013 with No Commentsas

The album includes 11 Rowan originals and a rework of “Freedom Riders,” the Civil Rights anthem made popular by Odetta. Featured guests include Del McCoury on the high lonesome “That’s All She Wrote,” Bobby Osborne on a stunning duet called “Stealing My Time,” Jesse McReynolds on the soon to be classic “Mountain Man’s Dream” and […]