Posts by date

Stop The Truck – Legacy – The Songs Of Freddy Powers (2013)

Posted by on March 16, 2013 with No Commentsas

stopFreddy Powers is the bridge between Bob Wills and Willie Nelson. A master of western swing and Merle Haggard’s favorite songwriter and singer, he has the distinction of composing three number one country songs in a single year. But, unless one is a student of the “Hag”, and know his collaborations with Freddy, knocked around the Big D Jamboree back in the day, or is a fan of multi-instrumentalist Paul Buskirk (the man who taught Willie how to swing), or ever heard Willie’s platinum selling swing album Somewhere Over The Rainbow, or just stumbled upon the duo of Rogers and Hammerhead picking around the grounds of Luck, Texas, west of Austin, Powers may be a mysterious, somewhat elusive figure.
For six years, the band Stop The Truck – Steve Carter, Alan Moe Monsarrat, Miguel “Unk” Pankratz, “Special” Ed Ferguson, and Pat Mcann – has backed Freddy Powers in the studio and on the road throughout the United States and Europe. Now, they’ve taken it one step further, recording 17 Freddy Powers songs in tribute to their mentor, friend, and inspiration. Powers songs are lyrical and instantly hummable and two-steppable. The singing is smooth and sublime, like cool crooning should be. The swing and jazz is hotter than the Nashville police allow. That’s Freddy Powers in a nutshell. It also pretty much sums up the album.

mp3 VBR~237 kbps | 103 MB | UL

Martin Zellar – Martin Lee Zellar (2011)

Posted by on March 16, 2013 with No Commentsas


01] Scattered (acoustic)
02] Took the Poison (acoustic demo)
03] Sonic Boom (acoustic)
04] Summer Song (acoustic)
05] So Far Away (acoustic)
06] Let Go (acoustic)
07] Stupid Boy (live)
08] All I Need (live)
09] Old Shoes (and Picture Postcards) (live)
10] You’re in Love (unreleased demo)

mp3 320 kbps | 78 MB | UL | CL

Southside Johnny & The Poor Fools – Songs From The Barn (2013)

Posted by on March 16, 2013 with No Commentsas

SOUT With an “Americana-ish” tone, mixing Country, Blues, R&B, and rock ‘n’ roll, the album includes six all new original tracks written by Southside and longtime collaborator Jeff Kazee, along with their versions of cover songs made popular by Randy Newman, Bob Dylan, Bo Diddley, Lucinda Williams and Alvin “Shine” Robinson.

The Poor Fools line-up captured here includes Southside and Kazee, who produced together, along with John Conte, Neal “The Dude” Pawley, and Tommy Byrnes, Francis Valentino, and Sister Soozie Tyrell. Multi-instrumentalists and singers, all — musically, The Poor Fools ride the Mystery Train to wherever it takes them, and you’ll probably wanna jump on for life to join ’em.

mp3 VBR~181 kbps | 61 MB | UL

Don Nix – In God We Trust (1971)

Posted by on March 16, 2013 with No Comments
in pop, rock

A native of Memphis, Tennessee, Nix’s musical career began back at the beginning of Stax Records. He was a member of the young record label’s house band The Mar-Keys, where he played sax. The band had a hit in 1961 with the instrumental “Last Night”, and they went on to tour extensively as well as […]