Posts by date

Weinland – Los Processaur (2012)

Posted by on December 5, 2012 with No Commentsas

Weinland’s winding and wistful melodies, gracious harmonies, and minimal arrangements elicit a nostalgia for something you may not quite have experienced, but feels like a kaleidoscope passed from the collective unconscious. The vignettes are overexposed; smiles are present just long enough to fade. There’s no mondo cheer here, but these tracks make you feel ready and encouraged for healing from some doom sure to come; that kiss goodbye, or a driving straight off the cliff ahead–but only because you were distracted by the shape of a strange cloud in a clear sky. Their songs breathe and leave enough play between the songwriter-driven choruses for dashes of air organ, flawlessly-toned guitar, and keyboards that alternately laugh and drone. Transfixing and delicate, Weinland’s songs sit down and remind you to “own up to what you’ve done.”

mp3 VBR~247 kbps | 73 MB | UL

Jimmy LaFave – Depending On The Distance [Repost@320] (2012)

Posted by on December 5, 2012 with No Commentsas

“Depending on the Distance,” Jimmy LaFave’s first studio album in five years, lives up to the intriguing promise of its title, finding the Oklahoma-Texas troubadour in a contemplative mood whether he is crooning his new original songs, covering an ’80s pop smash or reinterpreting anthems penned by Rock and Roll Hall of Famers Bob Dylan and Bruce Springsteen.LaFave’s first album of new material on Music Road Records, the label he co-founded in 2008 with Dallas businessman Kelcy Warren, features three Dylan covers, including a hauntingly beautiful version of “Red River Shore” that captivates even as it flows past the 9 ½-minute mark.Golden-throated folk songstress Eliza Gilkyson prettily backs the fellow Austinite on his take on The Boss’ “Land of Hope and Dreams,” while big-voiced Texas jazz/soul songbird Tameca Jones amps up the gospel groove of LaFave’s uplifting original anthem “Bring Back the Trains.”But the moments of introspection dominate “Depending on the Distance,” with the wistful ode “A Place I Have Left Behind” lingering in the heart and mind long after the final notes have faded as surely as the lost love affair the song memorializes.

mp3 320 kbps | 143 MB | UL

Minor Mine – Out Of Heaven (2012)

Posted by on December 5, 2012 with No Commentsas

FLAC | 301 MB | UL

Corky Laing, Ian Hunter, Mick Ronson, Felix Pappalardi – The Secret Sessions [1978] (2012)

Posted by on December 5, 2012 with No Comments
in rock
as , , ,

A rock effort created in ’78 by Corky Laing of MOUNTAIN who went into the studio with some friends, featuring Corky Laing, Ian Hunter, Mick Ronson and Felix Pappalardi + guest apparences by Eric Clapton, Dickey Betts, Leslie West, John Sebastian and Todd Rundgren. mp3 160 kbps | 46 MB | UL

Lonesome City Travelers – Lonesome City Travelers (2011)

Posted by on December 5, 2012 with No Commentsas

Orlando, FL based country-folk band Lonesome City Travellers have independently released their self titled debut album, the acoustic quartet comprise two pairs of brothers, Chris Metts (Vocals, Acoustic Guitar), Scott Metts (Vocals, Banjo, Lapsteel, Accordion), Justin Martin (Bass) and Jeremy Martin (Drums).The album kicks of gently, plucked banjo and guitar combines with sibling harmonising on […]

Peter Bruntnell – Black Mountain U.F.O. (2011)

Posted by on December 5, 2012 with No Commentsas

Peter Bruntnell is one of those musicians I keep hearing great things about but hadn’t actually heard any of his music until this new album appeared.Working in his home studio has given him the time to build these songs with great care, frequently playing most of the instruments himself. There’s a gorgeous lushness to the […]

The Smashing Pumpkins – Mellon Collie and the Infinite Sadness [5CD Deluxe Edition] (2012)

Posted by on December 5, 2012 with No Commentsas

The Smashing Pumpkins released,remastered reissue of their most iconic record, the 1995 double album Mellon Collie and the Infinite Sadness. The reissue is available a deluxe 5xCD box set that’s expanded to a whopping 106 tracks.The expanded 5xCD box set’s 64 bonus tracks include demos, live takes, and alternate mixes of Mellon Collie era tracks and some […]

James Tealy & The Citizens Oath – Only Love (2011)

Posted by on December 5, 2012 with No Commentsas

mp3 192 kbps | 57 MB | UL